PDA

View Full Version : 550 Administrative Prohibition



Joe
09-17-2005, 10:00 AM
If you are getting a message similar to following message below:

========================

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<johndoe@receivingdomain.com>
(reason: 550 Administrative prohibition)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to receivingdomain.com.:
>>> DATA
<<< 550 Administrative prohibition
550 5.1.1 <johndoe@receivingdomain.com>... User unknown
<<< 503 valid RCPT command must precede DATA
Reporting-MTA: dns; mail.yourdomain.com
Received-From-MTA: DNS; xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.your.isp.or.web.hosting.provider.n et
Arrival-Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2005 15:29:02 -0400

Final-Recipient: RFC822; johndoe@receivingdomain.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1
Remote-MTA: DNS; receivingdomain.com
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550 Administrative prohibition
Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2005 15:29:06 -0400
=========================

Then your computer or network IP is listed on one of the three internet blacklist due to spamming:

RELAYS.ORDB.ORG
SBL-XBL.SPAMHAUS.ORG
BL.SPAMCOP.NET

You can get your IP address by going to the following website address:

http://www.whatismyip.com

Then go to dnsstuff.com at:

http://www.dnsstuff.com

and enter your IP in the Spam database lookup field then click on Lookup.

You should look for items in Red but specifically
RELAYS.ORDB.ORG
SBL-XBL.SPAMHAUS.ORG
BL.SPAMCOP.NET

You will need to submit your IP address for removal to each of the blacklists you are on. Please note that by being on the world wide blacklists, your emails may be deleted by other internet service providers.

HostPC can not help you with this. We do not assign your IP address - they're provided by whoever you use to access the internet (AOL, Earthlink, Comcast, local provider, etc).

jlegato
09-23-2005, 09:51 PM
For those of you having the issue w/ gmail your not alone :

http://groups.google.com/group/Gmail-Probl...7ba66ffe5989a41 (http://groups.google.com/group/Gmail-Problem-solving/browse_thread/thread/e424eff08ba195ea/57ba66ffe5989a41?lnk=st&q=550+Administrative+prohibition+gmail&rnum=2#57ba66ffe5989a41)

I am noticing it tonight hopefully it will clear up soon.


Originally posted by Joe@Sep 17 2005, 09:00 AM
If you are getting a message similar to following message below:

========================

----- The following addresses had permanent fatal errors -----
<johndoe@receivingdomain.com>
(reason: 550 Administrative prohibition)

----- Transcript of session follows -----
... while talking to receivingdomain.com.:
>>> DATA
<<< 550 Administrative prohibition
550 5.1.1 <johndoe@receivingdomain.com>... User unknown
<<< 503 valid RCPT command must precede DATA
Reporting-MTA: dns; mail.yourdomain.com
Received-From-MTA: DNS; xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.your.isp.or.web.hosting.provider.n et
Arrival-Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2005 15:29:02 -0400

Final-Recipient: RFC822; johndoe@receivingdomain.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1
Remote-MTA: DNS; receivingdomain.com
Diagnostic-Code: SMTP; 550 Administrative prohibition
Last-Attempt-Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2005 15:29:06 -0400
=========================

Then your computer or network IP is listed on one of the three internet blacklist due to spamming:

RELAYS.ORDB.ORG
SBL-XBL.SPAMHAUS.ORG
BL.SPAMCOP.NET

You can get your IP address by going to the following website address:

http://www.whatismyip.com

Then go to dnsstuff.com at:

http://www.dnsstuff.com

and enter your IP in the Spam database lookup field then click on Lookup.

You should look for items in Red but specifically
RELAYS.ORDB.ORG
SBL-XBL.SPAMHAUS.ORG
BL.SPAMCOP.NET

You will need to submit your IP address for removal to each of the blacklists you are on. Please note that by being on the world wide blacklists, your emails may be deleted by other internet service providers.

HostPC can not help you with this. We do not assign your IP address - they're provided by whoever you use to access the internet (AOL, Earthlink, Comcast, local provider, etc).

Quoted post

mharvey
09-23-2005, 11:04 PM
This a problem that seems to come and go. I have had emails to my domain here (on www24) bounce from time to time for several months. I have only seen email from gmail and yahoogroups bounce. I have tried but I can not make sense of it.

I just did a test where I sent an email from my gmail account. The email was addressed to three email accounts on domain here... all three on the same domain. It bounced back from two of them but got through to one of the accounts. How strange is that? I then tried it again a few times and it bounced back from all three accounts. I get the same result (a 550 Administrative prohibition bounce) when the email is addressed to an individual address here.

Here is the bounce message that went back to Gmail. The email addresses and domain names have been changed to protect the innocent:

Delivered-To: xxx@gmail.com
Received: by 10.70.90.3 with SMTP id n3cs98927wxb;
Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:09 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.70.91.7 with SMTP id o7mr2401805wxb;
Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:09 -0700 (PDT)
From: Mail Delivery Subsystem <mailer-daemon@gmail.com>
To: xxx@gmail.com
Subject: Delivery Status Notification (Failure)
Date: Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:09 -0700 (PDT)

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification

Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

test@mydomain.org

Technical details of permanent failure:
PERM_FAILURE: SMTP Error (state 9): 550 Administrative prohibition

----- Original message -----

Received: by 10.70.91.7 with SMTP id o7mr1279154wxb;
Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:08 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.70.90.3 with HTTP; Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:08 -0700 (PDT)
Message-ID: <57d51b840509231937677a01bf@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 23 Sep 2005 22:37:08 -0400
From: XXX <xxx@gmail.com>
Reply-To: XXX <xxx@gmail.com>
To: test@mydomain.org, test1@mydomain.org, test2@mydomain.org
Subject: This is a test
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Content-Disposition: inline

testing


----- End of message -----

Here is the email that got through to one of the addresses:

Return-path: <xxx@gmail.com>
Envelope-to: test1@mydomain.org
Delivery-date: Fri, 23 Sep 2005 22:37:09 -0400
Received: from mail by www24.hostpc.com with spam-scanned (Exim 4.44)
id 1EIzuW-0005IU-Vp
for test1@mydomain.org; Fri, 23 Sep 2005 22:37:09 -0400
Received: from [66.249.82.200] (helo=xproxy.gmail.com)
by www24.hostpc.com with esmtp (Exim 4.44)
id 1EIzuW-0005IP-TJ
for test1@mydomain.org; Fri, 23 Sep 2005 22:37:08 -0400
Received: by xproxy.gmail.com with SMTP id t11so178911wxc
for <test1@mydomain.org>; Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:08 -0700 (PDT)
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=beta; d=gmail.com;
h=received:message-id:date:from:reply-to:to:subject:mime-version:content-type:content-transfer-encoding:content-disposition;
b=FHPwtHKAivzvOhZ4KSPD+gWivdyK3T+s+5u04uG5Ehnzn4EY vIWMDMR8k7M7vOzXtMlbP5Bx4VH/R+R5nqg9wNGJ/iukjC9O0yUZJ9ZKRHWzlU+MHL/WmVR2oqPGZalxEtnE641OUOGjCl9OP1zqdv6yk5ERB7yXKmOWm qOBZGs=
Received: by 10.70.91.7 with SMTP id o7mr1279154wxb;
Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:08 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.70.90.3 with HTTP; Fri, 23 Sep 2005 19:37:08 -0700 (PDT)
Message-ID: <57d51b840509231937677a01bf@mail.gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 23 Sep 2005 22:37:08 -0400
From: XXX <xxx@gmail.com>
Reply-To: XXX <xxx@gmail.com>
To: test@mydomain.org, test1@mydomain.org, test2@mydomain.org
Subject: This is a test
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Content-Disposition: inline
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.0.2 (2004-11-16) on www24.hostpc.com
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=0.0 required=6.0 tests=RCVD_BY_IP
autolearn=unavailable version=3.0.2

testing


I still can not figure this out. If this is bouncing because of a blacklisting of an IP address, why did the same email message get through to one of the addresses on the "to:" line but bounce from the other two... from the same domain.

dbmasters
09-26-2005, 08:45 AM
So any word on this ever getting fixed? It's REALLY starting to get frustrating.

KuJaX
10-05-2005, 09:45 PM
Originally posted by dbmasters@Sep 26 2005, 06:45 AM
So any word on this ever getting fixed? It's REALLY starting to get frustrating.

Quoted post



i've recently been getting this error. Any other suggestions? The links above didnt really helpout with my personal situation. It seems as though it is only with one of my e-mail addresses on my domain hosted with HOSTPC. The other e-mail addresses hosted with HOSTPC *SEEM* to be okay.

same "PERM_FAILURE: SMTP Error (state 9): 550 Administrative prohibition" error. The funny thing is... I NEVER get any spam on this e-mail address.

jkersenbr
10-06-2005, 01:54 PM
I know Joe and the HostPC folks are working on the fix, but thought I should let you know that I am getting this message and have researched my IP address and it is NOT listed in any of the blacklists.

Therefore, I'm not so sure that submitting your IP to have it removed from the blacklists will accomplish anything.

Just a thought.