admin
08-07-2006, 07:25 AM
Sunday afternoon we were notified of a block on www39's IP address by GoDaddy. As you know, we have a "zero tolerance" for UCE (Spam), so we immediately started investigating.
The bounceback messages that some customers are receiving say:
SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<bob@domain.org>:
host smtp.secureserver.net [64.202.166.12]: 553 Attack detected from
pool 72.35.72.125. <http://unblock.secureserver.net/?ip=72.35.72.*>
------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------
------ The body of the message is 145565 characters long; only the first
------ 106496 or so are included here.
72.35.72.125 isn't even OUR IP address - GoDaddy has decided, in their INFINITE WISDOM to block an entire Class C (256 IP's) to deal with ONE IP issue. That is just plain irresponsible and bad "netizenship".
We immediately contacted goDaddy via their posted phone numbers - and have been told it's not "eligible" for unblocking. WTF? So we submitted their form ... waited for a response. Still nothing.
Verio and the datacenter are still working on this - if it's not cleared up by mid afternoon, we're going to need to do an IP swap on the server to get away from the malicious company that caused the block
http://whois.sc/72.35.72.125
Hostbreak.com
I'll keep you updated.
Joe
The bounceback messages that some customers are receiving say:
SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<bob@domain.org>:
host smtp.secureserver.net [64.202.166.12]: 553 Attack detected from
pool 72.35.72.125. <http://unblock.secureserver.net/?ip=72.35.72.*>
------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------
------ The body of the message is 145565 characters long; only the first
------ 106496 or so are included here.
72.35.72.125 isn't even OUR IP address - GoDaddy has decided, in their INFINITE WISDOM to block an entire Class C (256 IP's) to deal with ONE IP issue. That is just plain irresponsible and bad "netizenship".
We immediately contacted goDaddy via their posted phone numbers - and have been told it's not "eligible" for unblocking. WTF? So we submitted their form ... waited for a response. Still nothing.
Verio and the datacenter are still working on this - if it's not cleared up by mid afternoon, we're going to need to do an IP swap on the server to get away from the malicious company that caused the block
http://whois.sc/72.35.72.125
Hostbreak.com
I'll keep you updated.
Joe