PDA

View Full Version : Spammers taking advantage of servers?



durin
02-20-2008, 03:09 PM
The last few days, I've been getting a LOT of spam routing through www57.hostpc.com. I believe that's the server my domains are hosted on, but it looks like perhaps some spammer is taking advantage of some loophole or security opening to spam users on that server.

Below is one of the mail headers. As you can see, it's pretty direct.

Return-path: <n.22830.18295633@star-leafbegonia.com>
Envelope-to: durin@MYDOMAIN.com
Delivery-date: Wed, 20 Feb 2008 12:52:06 -0500
Received: from mail by www57.hostpc.com with spam-scanned (Exim 4.60)
(envelope-from <n.22830.18295633@star-leafbegonia.com>)
id 1JRt6x-0001xD-Pb
for durin@MYDOMAIN.com; Wed, 20 Feb 2008 12:52:06 -0500
Received: from nt106.star-leafbegonia.com ([71.95.151.106])
by www57.hostpc.com with smtp (Exim 4.60)
(envelope-from <n.22830.18295633@star-leafbegonia.com>)
id 1JRt6x-0001wT-J3
for durin@MYDOMAIN.com; Wed, 20 Feb 2008 12:52:03 -0500
Date: Wed, 20 Feb 2008 08:50:09 -0800
From: AutoInsurance@www57.hostpc.com
To: durin@MYDOMAINNAME.com
Subject: Find Auto Insurance at better monthly payments.
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: wbk v8.3.3.1109.18295633
Reply-To: r.22830.18295633@star-leafbegonia.com
Message-Id: <20080218031002.oydjdymifo@star-leafbegonia.com>
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="=_d7afbe6c12f94260e864070e09055d2e"

tonydi
02-20-2008, 03:55 PM
That technique is nothing new, I've seen this used for at least the last year. Dunno why you never got this type before now.

It seems you're on one of the servers that either doesn't have the EasyAntiSpam service on it or you don't have it enabled for your domain. I'd suggest that you open a Helpdesk ticket and ask about getting this FREE service.

durin
02-25-2008, 12:51 PM
Thanks. I've seen the occasional email make it through using this technique, but the last several weeks it's been 10-30 or more per day.

I'll look into the antispam tools. I thought I'd set up the filters already, but I guess there's always something new to follow up on. ;)

Thanks again,
Durin

admin
02-25-2008, 03:55 PM
we've had a 20% increase in incoming mail across all servers in the past 30 days ... that's a significant amount when you're dealing with 1M + per day per server.

I'd suggest opening a helpdesk ticket and get setup on a newer server that has EAS enabled as soon as you can.

Joe

rmcb5
04-18-2008, 03:21 PM
I seem to be blacklisted with yahoo for some unknown reason. I am trying to get an email to someone and it keeps getting delayed because they say I am an abuser. I have no idea why, I send like 4 emails a day and maybe one or two a month to someone with a yahoo address.

I often get bounced messages with fictitious email address with my domain.